7 Sakramen dalam Gereja Katolik / the 7 Sacraments in the Catholic Church

Posted on

Liturgi tak perpisahkan dengan sakramen. Ada 7 sakramen dalam Gereja Katolik. Dari tujuh sakramen Gereja, 3 yang pertama – Baptis, Ekaristi (1, 2, 3), Penguatan – adalah sakramen inisiasi yang menjadi sakramen-sakramen dasar bagi kehidupan orang Kristen. Sakramen Urapan Orang Sakit dan Sakramen Tobat (bagian 1, 2, 3, 4), diberikan untuk kesembuhan baik fisik maupun rohani. Dan akhirnya, Sakramen Perkawinan (bagian 1, 2) dan Imamat diberikan untuk menguatkan kita dalam menjalankan misi di dunia ini dalam mencapai tujuan akhir, yaitu Kristus.







Sakramen Baptis

The Sacrament of Baptism

The Sacrament of Baptism is often called “The door of the Church,” because it is the first of the seven sacraments not only in time (since most Catholics receive it as infants) but in priority, since the reception of the other sacraments depends on it. It is the first of the three Sacraments of Initiation, the other two being the Sacrament of Confirmation and the Sacrament of Holy Communion. Once baptized, a person becomes a member of the Church. Traditionally, the rite (or ceremony) of baptism was held outside the doors of the main part of the church, to signify this fact.


Sakramen Krisma

The Sacrament of Confirmation

Although, in the West, Confirmation is usually received as a teenager, several years after making First Communion, the Catholic Church considers it the second of the three Sacraments of Initiation (Baptism being the first and Communion the third). Confirmation is regarded as the perfection of Baptism, because, as the introduction to the Rite of Confirmation states:

by the sacrament of Confirmation, [the baptized] are more perfectly bound to the Church and are enriched with a special strength of the Holy Spirit. Hence they are, as true witnesses of Christ, more strictly obliged to spread and defend the faith by word and deed.


Sakramen Ekaristi/Komuni

The Sacrament of Holy Communion

The Sacrament of Holy Communion is the third of the Sacraments of Initiation. Even though we are required to receive Communion at least once per year (our Easter Duty), and the Church urges us to receive Communion frequently (even daily, if possible), it is called a sacrament of initiation because, like Baptism and Confirmation, it brings us into the fullness of our life in Christ.

In Holy Communion, we are eating the True Body and Blood of Jesus Christ, without which “you shall not have life in you” (John 6:53).


Sakramen Tobat

The Sacrament of Confession

Confession is one of the least understood of the sacraments of the Catholic Church. In reconciling us to God, it is a great source of grace, and Catholics are encouraged to take advantage of it often.

  • What is Confession?
  • What is its purpose and its effects?
  • What are its requirements?
  • Can we confess our sins directly to God, or must we go through a priest?

The Sacrament of Penance, commonly called Confession, is one of the seven sacraments recognized by the Catholic Church. Catholics believe that all of the sacraments were instituted by Jesus Christ himself. In the case of Confession, that institution occurred on Easter Sunday, when Christ first appeared to the apostles after his Resurrection. Breathing on them, he said: “Receive the Holy Spirit. For those whose sins you forgive, they are forgiven; for those whose sins you retain, they are retained” (John 20:22-23).


Sakramen Perkawinan

The Sacraments of Marriage

Marriage is a practice common to all cultures in all ages. It is, therefore, a natural institution, something common to all mankind. At its most basic level, marriage is a union between a man and a woman for the purpose of procreation and mutual support, or love. Each spouse in a marriage gives up some rights over his or her life in exchange for rights over the life of the other spouse.

While divorce has existed throughout history, it has been rare until recent centuries, which indicates that, even in its natural form, marriage is meant to be a lifelong, union.


Sakramen Tahbisan

The Sacrament of Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ’s priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles; thus, the Catechism of the Catholic Church refers to the Sacrament of Holy Orders as “the sacrament of apostolic ministry.”

“Ordination” comes from the Latin word ordinatio, which means to incorporate someone into an order. In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, a man is incorporated into the priesthood of Christ, at one of three levels: the episcopate, the priesthood, or the diaconate.


Sakramen Urapan Orang Sakit

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick

Traditionally referred to as Extreme Unction or Last Rites, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick was previously most commonly administered to the dying, for the remission of sins and the provision of spiritual strength and health. In modern times, however, its use has been expanded to all who are gravely ill or are about to undergo a serious operation, and the Church stresses a secondary effect of the sacrament: to help a person recover his health. Like Confession and Holy Communion, to which it is closely linked, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick can be repeated as often as is necessary.

Biblical Roots:

The modern celebration of the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick recalls the early Christian use, going back to biblical times. When Christ sent His disciples out to preach, “they cast out many devils, and anointed with oil many that were sick, and healed them” (Mark 6:13). James 5:14-15 ties physical healing to the forgiveness of sins:

Is any man sick among you? Let him bring in the priests of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith shall save the sick man: and the Lord shall raise him up: and if he be in sins, they shall be forgiven him.




3 thoughts on “7 Sakramen dalam Gereja Katolik / the 7 Sacraments in the Catholic Church

    traurlrep said:
    December 9, 2010 at 3:07 am

    Great post, I am almost 100% in agreement with you

    R.m. Hardoko Mardiko said:
    December 18, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    Thank you very much for the information ..Praise The Lord.

    Beatris poety said:
    July 19, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    Ini sangat membantu bgi org”yg blum mengerti arti dri ke 7 sakramen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s